The History of Halse Village Hall


In 1929 Mrs Margaret Hancock of Blakes House donated a large disused tithe barn, situated on the outskirts of Halse, to the village for use as a village hall.
Strenuous efforts were soon under way to raise the £600 needed to convert the barn to its new use. Despite various modifications over the years, it retains most of its original characteristics and charm, with exposed beams and a large inglenook fireplace, which continues to be used on festive occasions. 


The Tithe Barn before its conversion


In 1989/90, with local authority grant aid, alongside a heavy fund-raising programme and several interest-free loans from generous villagers, considerable restoration works were carried out to conform to local authority requirements for renewal of the hall's licence, which had lapsed. This accomplished, the hall was redecorated by 'young offenders' under a scheme where such labour was offered free of charge.

Committee members at that time ensured that the youngsters had a continuous supply of homemade cakes, which were gratefully received and eagerly devoured!

I992 +

The hall boasts a small stage, and in I992, with grant aid, new stage curtains and some basic stage lighting were installed, and sound equipment purchased.
Further alterations and improvements were made toward the end of the 1990s, including improved toilet facilities, closure of the original front entrance including removal of the very steep steps leading to it, and the creation of a new rear entrance, together with a paved walkway and patio. A small piece of land opposite the hall was also acquired to create some much-needed additional car parking space. 
Improvement of the hall's facilities continues, with complete refurbishment of the hall's kitchen the next item on the agenda.